Discipline & Suspensions


Red cards in Canadian Premier League competitive matches result in immediate suspension from forthcoming competitive matches.







Kyle Bekker 100px-ForgeFC September 10, 2022 3 1
Charlie Trafford cavalry_fc_nav_new_100px September 24, 2022 2 2
Pierre Lamothe 100px-HFXWanderers September 16, 2022 1 1
Luke Singh* 100px-FCEdmonton September 25, 2022* 1* 1*
Ballou Tabla ATO Primary Mark 100px September 24, 2022 1 1

*Pending appeal from respective club or further action from Canada Soccer


Accumulation of four (4) Yellow Cards (YC) in competitive Canadian Premier League matches results in a one-game suspension to be served immediately after the player’s fourth offence. The player would, therefore, be suspended for the next match.

Additional punishments are served for eight (8) and 12 yellow cards; two (2) and three (3) games respectively. If a player accumulates 15 yellow cards in the season, they will be required to attend a disciplinary hearing where, in addition to a three-game suspension this automatically triggers, they could face further sanctions.

Where a player accumulates three (3) yellow cards in a season they may automatically reduce the yellow card accumulation total by one yellow card should they play in five consecutive league matches, after receiving the third yellow card, without receiving a yellow card, red card, or other discipline sanction arising during such matches. A player may only receive this incentive once throughout the course of the season. For the avoidance of doubt “plays” means actually enters the field of play either as a starter or a substitute. Further if the consecutive run is broken for any reason the five count starts again from the next time the player plays. This paragraph does not apply to cautions received in the Canadian Championship.



# of Yellow Cards


Charlie Trafford Cavalry FC 8 2
Ballou Tabla Atlético Ottawa 4 1
Pierre Lamothe HFX Wanderers 4 1






Name (Club)


Charlie Trafford (Cavalry FC) 9
Isaiah Johnston (York United) 8
Rezart Rama (Forge FC) 8
Daan Klomp (Cavalry FC) 7
José Escalante (Cavalry FC) 7
Diego Gutierrez (Valour FC) 7
Tristan Borges (Forge FC) 7
Diego Espejo (Atlético Ottawa) 7
Andre Rampersad (HFX Wanderers) 6
Mateo Hernández (York United) 6
Moses Dyer (Valour FC) 6
Brett Levis (Valour FC) 6
Djenairo Daniels (Pacific FC) 6
Kwasi Poku (Forge FC) 6
Abdou Sissoko (Atlético Ottawa) 6
Mason Trafford (Cavalry FC) 5
Andy Baquero (Valour FC) 5
Rocco Romeo (Valour FC) 5
Vladimir Moragrega (Atlético Ottawa) 5
Peter Schaale (HFX Wanderers) 5
Zachary Fernandez (HFX Wanderers) 5
Obeng Tabi (HFX Wanderers) 5
Jérémy Gagnon-Laparé (HFX Wanderers) 5
Jordan Wilson (York United) 5
Sean Young (Pacific FC) 5
Kunle Dada-Luke (Pacific FC) 5
Luke Singh (FC Edmonton) 5
Karifa Yao (Cavalry FC) 4
David Norman Jr. (Cavalry FC) 4
Elliot Simmons (Cavalry FC) 4
Joseph Di Chiara (Cavalry FC) 4
Roberto Alarcón (Cavalry FC) 4
Alessandro Riggi (Valour FC) 4
Daryl Fordyce (Valour FC) 4
Nathan Mavila (Pacific FC) 4
Josh Heard (Pacific FC) 4
Abdou Samake (Pacific FC) 4
Amer Didic (Pacific FC) 4
Jamar Dixon (Pacific FC) 4
Simon Triantafillou (FC Edmonton) 4
Terique Mohammed (FC Edmonton) 4
Cale Loughrey (FC Edmonton) 4
Mamadi Camara (FC Edmonton) 4
Nyal Higgins (FC Edmonton) 4
Bicou Bissainthe (FC Edmonton) 4
Maxim Tissot (Atlético Ottawa) 4
Zakaria Bahous (Atlético Ottawa) 4
Ollie Bassett (Atlético Ottawa) 4
Ballou Tabla (Atlético Ottawa) 4
Marcello Polisi (HFX Wanderers) 4
Pierre Lamothe (HFX Wanderers) 4
Kyle Bekker (Forge FC) 4
Aboubacar Sissoko (Forge FC) 4
Garven Metusala (Forge FC) 4
Alessandro Hojabrpour (Forge FC) 4
Osaze De Rosario (York United) 4
Noah Verhoeven (York United) 4
Sergio Camargo (Cavalry FC) 3
Elijah Adekugbe (Cavalry FC) 3
Mikaël Cantave (Cavalry FC) 3
Wesley Timoteo (FC Edmonton) 3
CJ Smith (FC Edmonton) 3
Gianni Dos Santos (Pacific FC) 3
Manuel Aparicio (Pacific FC) 3
Cédric Toussaint (Pacific FC) 3
Marco Bustos (Pacific FC) 3
Walter Ponce (Valour FC) 3
Sean Rea (Valour FC) 3
Stefan Cebara (Valour FC) 3
Ben McKendry (Atlético Ottawa) 3
Drew Beckie (Atlético Ottawa) 3
Miguel Acosta (Atlético Ottawa) 3
Keven Alemán (Atlético Ottawa) 3
Ashtone Morgan (Forge FC) 3
Triston Henry (Forge FC) 3
Niko Giantsopoulos (York United) 3
Chrisnovic N’sa (York United) 3
Luis Lawrie-Lattanzio (York United) 3
Roger Thompson (York United) 3

*Suspension pending confirmation letter from Canada Soccer


The Canadian Premier League (a member of Canada Soccer) is monitored by The Canada Soccer Disciplinary Committee (CSDC) and its clubs and players are required to follow the Canada Soccer Disciplinary Code. Any disciplinary matters are determined and filed by the CSDC. This includes post-game review. This system keeps our domestic league in Canada aligned with the rules and standards found within the global game.

This CSDC applies to every match and competition organized by Canada Soccer or its Members and to breaches of the IFAB Laws of the Game, Canada Soccer By-Laws, Rules and Regulations, Code of Conduct and Ethics and policies/directives in force. It also applies to any breach of Canada Soccer By-Laws, Rules and Regulations, Canadian Soccer Code of Conduct and Ethics and policies that do not fall under the jurisdiction of any other body.