2024 CPL Season Preview: Cavalry FC

The 2024 Canadian Premier League season kicks off the weekend of April 13, when all eight clubs will begin their quest to hoist the CPL Shield and vie for the North Star Cup.
Here at, we’re celebrating the start of April by previewing each individual club ahead of 2024. To check out all eight team previews, click here. To see all of our season preview coverage ahead of the sixth year of the CPL, click here.

Cavalry FC enter the 2024 Canadian Premier League season as the defending CPL Shield champions, having won the regular season by 13 points — the widest margin in league history.

They were dominant in every aspect, scoring the most goals in the league (46), while conceding the fewest goals (27). However, their 2023 campaign did end on a bit of a sour note, as the club were once again foiled by Forge FC in the 2023 CPL Final by a score of  2-1 despite taking the lead in extra time.

Critically, the Cavs were able to maintain their championship core, with all eleven players who started against Forge in the 2023 CPL Final returning for the 2024 campaign.

READ MORE: 6 questions ahead of Cavalry FC’s 2024 CPL season


  • 2023 CPL regular season record (W-D-L): 16-7-5 (55 pts, 1st place)
  • Goals scored: 46
  • Goals against: 27
  • Goal difference: +19
  • Top scorer: Myer Bevan (11)
  • Canadian Championship: Lost (on penalties) in the preliminary round vs. Pacific FC

Cavalry FC’s biggest goal this season will likely be returning to the Concacaf Champions Cup stage, whether that is repeating as CPL regular season winners, through the Canadian Championship or finally winning an elusive CPL Playoff title.


Players in:

Players out:

GK – Jack Barrett GK – Sterling Kerr
MF – Diego Gutiérrez DF – Roberto Alarcón
MF – Lucas Dias DF – Udoka Chima
FW – Tobias Warschewski MF – Ben Fisk
FW – Lleyton Brooks FW – Gareth Smith-Doyle
FW – Malcolm Shaw FW – Ethan Beckford
FW – Joe Mason

Perhaps the best news for Cavalry FC this off-season is the fact that there was very little player movement.

However, there was some turnover, especially in attack. German forward Tobias Warschewski returns to the league after establishing himself as one of the CPL’s best attackers during the 2021 and 2022 campaigns with Cavalry’s former rivals FC Edmonton. Australian winger Lleyton Brooks will hope to be another offensive weapon as well, while creative midfielder Lucas Dias joins Cavalry on loan from Sporting Lisbon.

Cavalry also added former Valour FC captain Diego Gutiérrez, who as one of the league’s premier midfielders will add quality and flexibility to an already stacked Cavalry middle of the park.


Cavalry FC head coach Tommy Wheeldon Jr. (Photo: David Chant)

Tommy Wheeldon Jr. is one of the most storied managers in league history, having taken home the league’s Coach of the Year Award for the second time this past season. A legend in the Calgary soccer community, Wheeldon Jr. led the famed Calgary Foothills program between 2015 and 2018 before taking on the role of Head Coach with Cavalry FC.

His younger brother Jay, is also on the coaching staff for the 2024 season, having played as a central defender for the club in their first two seasons.


(4-2-3-1): Marco Carducci; Bradley Kamdem, Daan Klomp, Eryk Kobza, Shamit Shome; Charlie Trafford, Diego Gutiérrez; William Akio, Sergio Camargo, Ali Musse; Myer Bevan

Cavalry FC 2024 projected XI

Last year, Cavalry were incredibly tactically flexible and expect more of the same this season in terms of the different formations and lineups they trot out depending upon the opposition and moment in the match. The ability of many of these players to play multiple positions well will be essential over the course of 2024.

The middle of the park, in particular, will be interesting with Diego Gutiérrez and Lucas Dias joining a talented central midfield group that already includes the likes of Jesse Daley, Sergio Camargo, Charlie Trafford and Shamit Shome.


Domestic U-21


Loaned In

Michael Harms Jack Barrett Jack Barrett
Maël Henry Daan Klomp Lucas Dias
Lucas Dias Jesse Daley
Lleyton Brooks
Tobias Warschewski