6 CPL players named to Canada U-20 national team camp for April

Canada Soccer announced on Tuesday that 25 players have been called up to the U-20 men’s national team for a camp in Costa Rica this April, ahead of the summer’s Concacaf U-20 Championship — which serves as qualification for both the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup and the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris, France.

Six players currently at Canadian Premier League clubs earned the call: Kwasi Poku, Dino Bontis (both Forge FC), Matt Catavolo (Valour FC), Max Piepgrass (Cavalry FC), Lowell Wright (York United), and Kamron Habibullah (Pacific FC, on loan from Vancouver Whitecaps).

So, too, did a few high-profile players from around the world, including Justin Smith of French club OGC Nice, Gabriel Pellegrino of Germany’s SC Freiburg, and Hugo Tavares of Portuguese side Paços de Ferreira.

The 13-day camp will be headed by Mauro Biello, head coach of the U-20 and U-23 teams and an assistant for the senior men’s team. Canada will take on Costa Rica’s U-20 side in a pair of friendlies, on April 15 and 21.

For the actual U-20 Championship in June, Canada will have to cut their squad down to 20 players.

The full roster for this camp is available below.

GK- Max Anchor | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC Academy
GK- Dino Bontis | CAN / Forge FC Hamilton
GK- Adisa De Rosario | CAN / Toronto FC Academy
GK- Owen Goodman | ENG / Crystal Palace FC
CB- Matteo Campagna | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC Academy
CB- Loïc Cloutier | CAN / Académie de CF Montréal
CB- Jamie Knight-Lebel | ENG / Bristol City FC
CB- Justin Smith | FRA / OGC Nice
FB- Noah Abatneh | ITA / ASD Savio Calcio
FB- Luc de Fougerolles | ENG / Fulham FC
FB- Kwasi Poku | CAN / Forge FC Hamilton
FB- Eric White | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC Academy
M- Matt Catavolo | CAN / Valour FC
M- Jesse Costa | GER / VfL Wolfsburg
M- Maël Henry | CAN / Académie de CF Montréal
M- Jay Herdman | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC Academy
M- Gabriel Pellegrino | GER / SC Freiburg
M- Maxwell Piepgrass | CAN / Cavalry FC
M- Hugo Tavares | POR / FC Paços de Ferreira
F- Mataeo Bunbury | USA / Sporting Kansas City
F- Tiago Coimbra | BRA / SE Palmeiras
F- Kamron Habibullah | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC Academy
F- Ronan Kratt | GER / SSV Ulm 1846
F- Shyon Omrani | POR / Vitória FC
F- Lowell Wright | CAN / York United FC