Atlético Ottawa signs Liberman Torres on loan for the 2024 season from Villarreal

On Friday, Atlético Ottawa announced the signing of Liberman Torres, from Spanish side Villarreal CF B on loan for the 2024 Canadian Premier League season.

Liberman Torres, 21, hails from Ecuador and came through Ecuadorian top-flight side Independiente del Valle’s academy and featured once for the first team squad in 2020. The dynamic defensive player featured predominantly for Independiente’s under-20 side during their U20 Copa Libertadores run in 2022, before joining Villarreal CF B in August of that year and recently spent time on loan with Recreativo de Huelva.

“Liberman Torres is an exciting addition to our roster, and we are delighted to have him join Atlético Ottawa for the 2024 CPL season,” said Fernando López, CEO, Atlético Ottawa. “Torres is a versatile defensive player, who is physically strong and good on the ball allowing us to use him both as a central defender and a defensive midfielder. We believe he will contribute immensely to our ambitions for the upcoming season.”

This loan agreement marks the first collaboration between Atlético Ottawa and Villarreal, as Ottawa continues to lead the way in fostering strong bonds between the Canadian Premier League and some of Europe’s top soccer powerhouses.

“I am thrilled to be part of Atlético Ottawa and the Canadian Premier League for the 2024 season,” said Liberman Torres. “I see this as a fantastic opportunity to contribute to the growth of soccer in Canada, get more professional minutes and showcase what I can bring to a team in a new and exciting environment. I am grateful to both Atlético Ottawa and Villarreal for making this loan move possible.”

Atlético Ottawa 2024 Roster as of January 31st, 2024

Goalkeepers: Nathan Ingham (CAN)

Defenders: Karl Ouimette (CAN), Tyr Walker (CAN), Matteo de Brienne (CAN), Maxim Tissot (CAN), Aboubakary Sacko (FRA), Liberman Torres (ECU)

Midfielders: Alberto Zapater (ESP), Ollie Bassett (GBR), Noah Verhoeven (CAN), Gabriel Antinoro (CAN), Kris Twardek (CAN)

Forwards: Samuel Salter (CAN), Rubén del Campo (ESP), Ballou Tabla (CAN)