Canadian Premier League announces 2020 award nominees


Charlottetown, PE (September 18, 2020) – Today the Canadian Premier League is pleased to announce the 2020 Award Nominees for their coveted individual awards that the Clubs’ Players and Head Coach will win at the 2020 Canadian Premier League Awards Ceremony later this year.

The Awards – each a unique piece of Inuit Art – are quintessentially Canadian. Every carving is made by a talented artist from Kinngait (Cape Dorset), Nunavut, a small hamlet just off Baffin Island in Canada’s North, renowned as the epicentre of Inuit art.

“In year that has presented all of us with so many challenges, we thought it was important to continue the tradition of our Canadian Premier League Awards and celebrate the hardworking players from this season’s Island Games,” said David Clanachan, Commissioner, Canadian Premier League. “We are so proud of these awards and what they represent, and this year’s breadth of nominees demonstrates the incredible depth and talent of our CPL players.”

The winners will be selected in a poll of three nominees in each category by a judging panel comprised of media writers and reporters from across Canada.

All awards take into account the nominees’ performance for the full Canadian Premier League 2020 season from August 13 to September 19, 2020.


Golden Glove:
a)         Triston Henry – Forge FC
b)         Callum Irving – Pacific FC
c)         Christian Oxner – HFX Wanderers

Coach of the Year:
a)         Stephen Hart – HFX Wanderers
b)         Bobby Smyrniotis – Forge FC
c)         Mista – Atlético Ottawa

Player of the Year:
a)         Marco Bustos – Pacific FC
b)         Akeem Garcia – HFX Wanderers
c)         Kyle Bekker – Forge FC

U21 Player of the Year:
a)        Mo Farsi – Cavalry FC
b)        Chrisnovic N’sa – HFX Wanderers
c)        Julian Dunn – Valour FC (Valour FC – on loan)

Golden Boot Winner – To Be Announced at the conclusion of the 2020 Canadian Premier League Final on September 19