Six former CPL players named to CanMNT 2023 Nations League Finals preliminary squad

On Friday, Canada, the United States, Mexico and Panama announced their preliminary men’s national team rosters for the Concacaf Nations League Finals.

Each nation could name up to 60 players, who make up the pool of players who can be named to the final 23-man roster for the tournament. Each team must name that roster at least a week before the semifinals, to be played on June 15 in Las Vegas. Canada will meet Panama at 7 p.m. ET on that day, before playing either Mexico or the United States in the final or third-place game on June 18.

The 53 players named to Canada’s preliminary roster include six former Canadian Premier League players — Victor Loturi (formerly Cavalry FC, now with Ross County in Scotland), Dominick Zator (York United/Cavalry now with Korona Kielce in Poland), Joel Waterman (Cavalry now with CF Montréal) and Lukas MacNaughton (Pacific, now with Nashville SC) are all on the list having previously received national team call-ups. CF Montréal pair Jonathan Sirois and Sean Rea, who played for Valour the last two seasons, are also on the list and awaiting their first senior international call-up.

One surprise exclusion is former Cavalry FC fullback Mo Farsi, who is off to an excellent start to the MLS season with the Columbus Crew — especially considering the inclusion of his Columbus Crew teammates Jacen Russell-Rowe and Aidan Morris. Farsi has represented Canada at the U-23 level.

Otherwise, there are no real surprises for Canada as all of their top players are listed, including Alphonso Davies, Jonathan David, Stephen Eustáquio, Cyle Larin, Tajon Buchanan, Milan Borjan and Atiba Hutchinson.

Canada’s preliminary roster also includes some intriguing dual nationals. Luca Koleosho, an 18-year-old winger for Espanyol in La Liga, recently represented Italy at the youth level and is also eligible for the United States and Nigeria. There is also 21-year-old Columbus midfielder Morris, who is included on the U.S. list as well having already made two appearances for them at the senior level.

Here is the full Canadian preliminary roster:

Goalkeepers: Dayne St. Clair, Tom McGill, Jonathan Sirois, Milan Borjan, Thomas Hasal, Max Crépeau

Defenders: Alistair Johnston, Sam Adekugbe, Kamal Miller, Steven Vitoria, Mark-Anthony Kaye, Doneil Henry, Richie Laryea, Scott Kennedy, Dominick Zator, Joel Waterman, Luca Petrasso, Lukas MacNaughton, Kyle Hiebert, Raheem Edwards, Derek Cornelius, Zachary Brault-Guillard, Moise Mombito, Ali Ahmed

Midfielders: Sean Rea, Ryan Raposo, Victor Loturi, Stephen Eustaquio, David Wotherspoon, Ismäel Kone, Atiba Hutchinson, Alphonso Davies, Jonathan Osorio, Sam Piette, Liam Millar, Aidan Morris, Jahkeele Marshall-Rutty, Liam Fraser, Mathieu Choinière

Attackers: Lucas Cavallini, Junior Hoilett, Tajon Buchanan, Cyle Larin, Jonathan David, Ike Ugbo, Jacob Shaffelburg, Jacen Russell-Rowe, Jayden Nelson, Deandre Kerr, Luca Koleosho, Theo Corbeanu, Ayo Akinola, Charles-Andreas Brym

The full preliminary for all four nations can be found here.