CONCACAF League draw date set, CPL qualifier to enter preliminary round

FC Edmonton, Forge FC and Valour FC will soon learn who the winner of the CPL’s CONCACAF League qualifying will face this July and, in turn, their path to potential CONCACAF Champions League qualification.

Officials have announced the draw for the 2019 CONCACAF League will take place on Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:00 p.m. ET from the Grand Tikal Futura Hotel, in Guatemala City, Guatemala.

The draw will use a single-blind system involving four pots. Pots 1 and 2 will contain the names of the 12 clubs participating in the preliminary round, including “Canada 2”, with Pot 1 sides drawn against teams from Pot 2. This means the CPL representative will be pitted against Santa Tecla FC (SLV), CD Marathon (HON), AS Capoise (HAI), Deportivo Saprissa (CRC), an undetermined Guatalaman team or an undetermined Panamanian team in the first round.

Pots 3 and 4 will contain the ten clubs who have already qualified for the round of 16 and the six winners of the six preliminary round matchups.

Six teams from the CONCACAF League will qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League.

Pot rankings have been determined using the 2019 Concacaf League Index, which ranks clubs based on the performance of the countries over the last five seasons of play in the competition.

Pot 1: Santa Tecla FC (SLV), Panama 3 (TBC), CD Marathon (HON), AS Capoise (HAI), Guatemala 2 (TBC) and Deportivo Saprissa (CRC).

Pot 2: Belmopan Bandits (BLZ), El Salvador 3 (TBC), Real Esteli FC (NCA), SV Robinhood (SUR), Comunicaciones FC (GUA) and Canada 2 (TBC).

Pot 3: Panama 1 (TBC), CS Herediano (CRC), Panama 2 (TBC), Honduras 1 (TBC), AD San Carlos (CRC), Honduras 2 (TBC), El Salvador 1 (TBC) and CD Guastatoya (GUA).

Pot 4: Waterhouse FC (JAM), Managua FC (NCA), Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #1, Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #2, Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #3, Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #4, Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #5 and Winner Preliminary Round Matchup #6