Canada, U.S. to meet in CONCACAF Nations League

Canada’s men’s national team will meet the United States and Cuba during the group phase of CONCACAF Nations League A.

The Chelsea Theatre in Las Vegas played host to Wednesday night’s draw that saw 12 nations divided into four groups of three.

Group A: U.S., Canada, Cuba
Group B: Mexico, Panama, Bermuda
Group C: Honduras, Trinidad & Tobago, Martinique
Group D: Costa Rica, Haiti, Curacao

Canada will meet the U.S. and Cuba on four occasions (both home-and-away) during FIFA match windows in September, October and November of 2019. The team that finishes with the most points heads into a four-team CONCACAF Nations League Championship bracket, to be played in March of 2020. The four teams that finish second in their respective groups remain in Nations League A for the following season.

Canada joins the U.S. and Cuba in Group A.
Canada joins the U.S. and Cuba in Group A.

The four teams that finish bottom of their respective groups will be relegated to Nations League B for the following season, with the four teams that finish atop the four groups in Nations League B earning promotion into Nations League A.

Canada and the U.S. have faced off three times since 2012, with the Americans holding a 1-0-2 record. The U.S. claimed a 1-0 victory when the two sides last met on Feb. 6, 2016 in Carson, Calif.

Les Rouges last met Cuba during 2014 World Cup qualifying, with Canada claiming a 1-0 win in Havana before easing to a 3-0 win in Toronto.

Coach John Herdman’s side earned its place in Nations League A following a dominating four-game run through Nations League qualifying, culminating in a 4-1 win over French Guiana on Sunday at Vancouver’s BC Place.

Additional wins over Saint Kitts/Nevis, Dominica and the U.S. Virgin Islands saw Canada finish atop the qualifying standings.

Final standings for CONCACAF Nations League Qualifying.
Final standings for CONCACAF Nations League Qualifying.