HFX Wanderers FC parts ways with fullback Alex De Carolis

HFX Wanderers FC fans learned this week that fullback Alex De Carolis will not be returning to the club in 2021, after the two sides mutually agreed to part ways.

De Carolis, a 28-year-old fullback from Sarnia, Ont., was part of the Wanderers squad the past two CPL seasons, having signed on to Halifax’s inaugural roster in February 2019. He made 27 appearances in total for the Wanderers, playing six times for the club at The Island Games.

This past September, De Carolis scored his first goal for HFX from a free kick in a match against Valour FC. Shortly after, he captained the squad for its final group stage match against Pacific FC.

Prior to joining the Wanderers, De Carolis played for a trio of clubs in Sweden, where he’d gone after turning out for FC London of League1 Ontario (in 2014) and the Seattle Sounders under-23 team (2015). He also played four years of NCAA Division I soccer at Canisius College in Buffalo, New York.

De Carolis has also played an important role for the Wanderers off the pitch in his time at the club, and he was one of the few players retained from the 2019 roster for 2020.

During The Island Games, De Carolis was involved with several of HFX’s anti-racism initiatives, joining teammates and fellow CPLers in taking a stand in support of Black Lives Matter. He spoke to about it in September, detailing his thoughts about everyone’s role in stamping out racism.

De Carolis took to Twitter to post a farewell message to the CPL club and its fans.

“I want to say a big thank you to the Halifax Wanderers for the last two years of my career. It has been a great journey with many positive experiences in being part of the club from day one,” De Carolis wrote.

With the confirmation of De Carolis’ departure, the Wanderers now have three players from the 2020 squad who have not yet been re-signed: Ibrahima Sanoh, Daniel Kinumbe, and Aboubacar Sissoko.

In total, 12 players from HFX’s 2020 roster have been re-signed or renewed, a list that includes goalkeeper Christian Oxner, defenders Peter Schaale and Jems Geffrard, and Golden Boot winner Akeem Garcia.

Support your club, support your league. Be a part of The Collective
Support your club, support your league. Be a part of The Collective