The Quarterfinals of the Canadian Championship to kick off on Tuesday, May 24

The Canadian Championship kicked off with 5 matches in the Preliminary Round with the Quaterfinals set to resume on 24 May. The Quaterfinals Round will include two double-headers on Tuesday 24 May and Wednesday 25 May as the journey to lift the Voyageurs Cup continues.

The 2022 Canadian Championship Quarterfinals will feature 8 teams, including 3 teams that received byes into the Quarterfinal Round. CF Montréal and Toronto FC advanced to the Quarterfinal Round for being the finalists of the 2021 competition and Pacific FC received a bye for being the 2021 Canadian Premier League champions.

The first match day of the 2022 Canadian Championship Quarterfinals will see Canadian Premier League side HFX Wanderers FC hosting Major League Soccer’s Toronto FC and Pacific FC host York United FC in a Canadian Premier League rivalry matchup on Tuesday 24 May. The Quarterfinals will conclude with another double-header on Wednesday 25 May as Major League Soccer’s CF Montreal host Canadian Premier League’s Forge FC and  Canadian Premier League’s Cavalry FC host Major League Soccer’s Vancouver Whitecaps FC.

Quarterfinals Schedule

Tuesday 24 May
HFX Wanderers FC v Toronto FC – 19:00 Local (18:00 ET / 15:00 PT) Wanderers Grounds, Halifax NS
Pacific FC v York United FC – 19:00 Local (22:00pm ET / 19:00 PT) Starlight Stadium, Langford BC

Wednesday 25 May
CF Montréal v Forge FC – 19:00 Local (19:00 ET / 16:00 PT) Stade Saputo, Montréal QC
Cavalry FC v Vancouver Whitecaps FC – 19:00 Local (21:00 ET / 18:00 PT) Spruce Meadows ATCO Field, Calgary AB

All Canadian Championship matches are produced by Mediapro Canada and will air live and exclusively on OneSoccer, available as a linear channel on Telus’s Optik TV (Channel 980) as well as online at, through the OneSoccer app and on the fuboTV Canada platform. Fans will find extended coverage for the Canadian Championship across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube featuring the hashtag #CanChamp.

Across the four rounds of the 2022 Canadian Championship, the Preliminary Round took place from 10-11 May, the Quarterfinals will be held from 24-25 May, the Semifinals will be scheduled from 21-23 June, and the Final will be scheduled in July.

Canada Soccer’s Canadian Championship, also known as the Battle of the North, is the nation’s highest men’s domestic competition featuring clubs from coast to coast across the country, notably professional teams in Major League Soccer and the Canadian Premier League as well as league winners in both League1 Ontario and Québec’s PLSQ (Première ligue de soccer du Québec). Winners of the 2022 Canadian Championship lift the Voyageurs Cup and qualify to the annual international competition, Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. Winners of the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League then qualify to the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Voyageurs Cup has been awarded to the Canadian Championship winner since 2008. Created by the Voyageurs Canadian Supporters group, the trophy represents Canadian fans’ commitment to the game in our country. At the completion of the competition, the tournament MVP is named as the George Gross Memorial Trophy Award winner. The reigning MVP is Sebastian Breza. The Young Canadian Player Award is awarded to the best Canadian player in the competition 21 years of age or under. The reigning Young Canadian is Jacob Shaffelburg.

Canadian Championship Past Winners

2008: Impact Montréal
2009: Toronto FC
2010: Toronto FC
2011: Toronto FC
2012: Toronto FC
2013: Impact de Montréal
2014: Impact de Montréal
2015: Vancouver Whitecaps
2016: Toronto FC
2017: Toronto FC
2018: Toronto FC
2019: Impact de Montréal
2021: CF Montréal
2020: Toronto FC / Forge FC (To be played 4 June, 2022)