Valour FC signs ex-York9 FC goalkeeper Matt Silva; releases Tyson Farago

Valour FC has completed the revamp of its goalkeeping situation, announcing on Tuesday that it has signed former York9 FC shot-stopper Matt Silva and released Tyson Farago.

Silva, a 29-year-old native of Mississauga, Ont., played just once for York9 during the 2019 Canadian Premier League campaign, stepping between the posts for a 2-1 win over Pacific FC in mid-July.

Prior to coming to York Region, Silva played three years in the Swedish fourth tier for Bodens BK and Österlens FF, making over 60 appearances in total. He also spent a season in the Philippines with Kaya F.C.–Iloilo.

Silva’s departure from York9 was announced several months ago, making him a free agent able to negotiate with other clubs.

In Winnipeg, he’ll compose one half of a new goalkeeping tandem that includes James Pantemis, a 23-year-old from Montreal who joined Valour this off-season on loan from the Montreal Impact of MLS.

They’ll be playing behind a new-look defence that includes a trio of internationals who joined the team this off-season: Arnold Bouka Moutou (Congo), who brings Ligue 1 experience with him to the Winnipeg outfit, as well as Amir Soto (Panama) and Andrew Jean-Baptiste (Haiti).

RELATED READING: CPL 2020 roster tracker: How each team is shaping up

Valour has completely overhauled their goalkeeping setup for 2020, with neither of their 2019 ‘keepers – Mathias Janssens and Farago – still on the roster. Janssens was released in February.

Farago, a 29-year-old from Winnipeg, appeared in 16 CPL matches and recorded two clean sheets for Valour last year, as he split starting goalkeeping duties with Janssens. In Valour FC’s inaugural CPL campaign, the club conceded a league-high 52 goals in 28 games.

Coach Rob Gale’s squad now has 17 players signed for the 2020 CPL season, with 11 Canadian players and six of seven international slots filled.

In total, Valour’s current roster boasts just five returning players from last season: Defenders Yohan Le Bourhis and Raphaël Garcia, and midfielders Diego Gutierrez, Jose Galan and Dylan Carreiro.