CanChamp Bracket: Cavalry, Pacific square off; HFX, York9 learn fates

The expanded 13-team, 24-match 2019 Canadian Championship schedule is now complete after a draw conducted by Canada Soccer.

Across five rounds featuring home and away matches, the Battle of the North will kick off May 15 with three matches featuring three teams playing in three different leagues across three different provinces.

Opening round matches will take place  in Vaughan, Ont.,  Calgary, Alta., and Laval, Que. as teams look to hoist the Voyageurs Cup and move closer to a chance to earn a first-ever Canadian berth in the FIFA Club World Cup.

“The Canadian Championship has provided a tremendous springboard for Canadian players and Canada’s professional teams to gain invaluable experience in international competition with Toronto FC, Montreal Impact FC, and the Vancouver Whitecaps having advanced deep into the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League,” Canada Soccer General Secretary Peter Montopoli said. “The opening round matchups kick off a unique coast-to-coast competition with Canadian Championship matches hosted in five different Canada Soccer Member Association provinces.”

Here are the fixtures from Qualifying Round 1, with the first team hosting May 15, and the second team hosting on May 22:

  • Vaughan Azzurri (L1O) vs. HFX Wanderers FC (CPL)
  • Cavalry FC (CPL) vs. Pacific FC (CPL)
  • AS Blainville (PLSQ) vs. York9 FC (CPL)
The path to the Voyageurs Cup final. (Canada Soccer).
The path to the Voyageurs Cup final. (Canada Soccer).

In Qualifying Round 2, the winners of Matches 1-3 will face Canadian Premier League clubs FC Edmonton, Forge FC, and Valour FC, who enter the competition in this round. The opening leg will take place on June 5 with the return leg going June 12.

Major League Soccer clubs Montreal Impact FC, Vancouver Whitecaps FC, and United Soccer League’s (USL) Ottawa Fury FC are set to kick off their Canadian Championship in Qualifying Round 3 when they’ll meet the winners of matches 4 through 6 away on July 10, returning home for the second leg on July 24.

The Semi-Final Round will see Toronto FC (MLS) join the competition as they travel to meet the Match 7 winner on Aug. 7, along with the winners of Matches 8 and 9 competing in the second semi-final. The higher seed of the winners of Match 7 and 8 will host the second leg in the Semi-Final Round scheduled for 14 August.

The 2019 Canadian Championship winner and Canada 1 entrant into the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League will be determined over two legs on Sept. 18 and 25.