Triumphant Milan Borjan returns to Canada squad ahead of St. Kitts and Nevis test

Canada manager John Herdman has turned to plenty of familiar faces as his side prepares to travel to St. Kitts and Nevis for the third of four CONCACAF Nations League Qualifying matches, with Alphonso Davies, Jonathan David, Ballou Tabla and the rest of the team’s young contingent returning to test themselves once again in this important away match (Nov. 18, 7:00 p.m. ET/10:00 p.m. PT, live on

Veteran Atiba Hutchinson remains in the squad, joined by a returning goalkeeper Milan Borjan, who most recently kept Liverpool to a clean sheet in a triumphant 2-0 win in this UEFA Champions League group stage tilt.

Toronto FC’s trio of Ashtone Morgan, Jonathan Osorio and Tosaint Ricketts are notably absent from this recent call-up, replaced by club teammate Liam Fraser, as well as Valerenga full-back Sam Adekugbe and St. Johnstone midfielder David Wotherspoon.

Canada currently sits third out of 34 teams as the team looks to secure an automatic berth in the upcoming 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

“We are really looking forward to this challenge as St. Kitts and Nevis have performed well in Concacaf Nations League thus far,” Herdman said ahead of the tilt. “Given our history in this venue, we know it is a tough place to get a result, but we are clear on our approach and the players will be ready.”

Following the match at Warner Park Football Field, the Canadian men’s national team is set to wrap up this qualifying round with a home fixture against French Guiana on March 26, 2019.

The full squad, below:

Goalkeepers (3): Simon Thomas (Kongsvinger), Milan Borjan (Red Star Belgrade), Maxime Crepeau (Ottawa Fury)

Defenders (7): Zachary Brault-Guillard (Olympique Lyonnais), Manjrekar James (FC Fredericia), Derek Cornelius (FK Javor Ivanjica), David Edgar (Ottawa Fury), Sam Adekugbe (Valerenga), Doneil Henry (Vancouver Whitecaps), Marcus Godinho (Heart of Midlothian)

Midfielders (10): Samuel Piette (Montreal Impact), Russell Teibert (Whitecaps), David Wotherspoon (St. Johnstone), David Hoilett (Cardiff City), Alphonso Davies (Whitecaps), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), Liam Millar (Liverpool U-23), Liam Fraser (Toronto FC),  Jay Chapman (Toronto FC), Ballou Tabla (Barcelona B)

Forwards (3): Cyle Larin (Besiktas), Lucas Cavallini (Puebla FC), Jonathan David (KAA Gent)


More News
'No more excuses': Tyson Farago's journey comes full circle with Valour FC
14 hours ago
'We're doing our homework': Pacific FC's Silberbauer looks ahead to January arrival
1 day ago
York9 FC brings on Richmond Hill-based forward Austin Ricci
2 days ago
From Valour Rd. to Valour FC: Dylan Sacramento completes Hollywood-like journey to CPL
2 days ago
Cavalry's Carducci 'right there' with the best of his generation ahead of CPL's inaugural season
3 days ago
Valour adds former Canadian youth internationals in Dylan Sacramento, Tyson Farago
3 days ago